The Guardian Live – In conversation with Colm Tóibín

Printer-friendly version
Date: 
Thu, 30/09/2021 - 18:00 - 19:00
Venue: 
The Guardian Live – Online Event

Author Colm Tóibín will join us to introduce his new novel, The Magician.

Tóibín is the author of many award-winning and Booker-shortlisted books, including The Master, his fictional biography of Henry James, and Brooklyn, which was adapted into an award-winning film starring Saoirse Ronan. His works are celebrated for their breathtaking depictions of the ordinary lives of extraordinary people who live in extraordinary times.

The Magician captures the fascinating and at times devastating life of German novelist Thomas Mann, who struggled with his homosexuality, and remained fiercely loyal to his six children and wife. From Mann’s opinions on the First and Second Wars, and the United States’ suspicions of him as a communist, to his exile from the country that inspired his creativity, Tóibín tells the breathtaking story of one life at a pivotal moment in history.

Join him in conversation with Guardian literary journalist Alex Clark, when he will also be answering some of your questions.

Running time: 60 minutes

If you live in the United Kingdom, you can purchase a ticket with a copy of The Magician at checkout for the special combined price of £20 including postage and packing (RRP £18.99). Books will be dispatched on 23 September.

This event is being streamed globally.

6pm BST | 7pm CEST | 10am PDT | 1pm EDT

If you are unable to join at the time of streaming, this event will be available to watch on demand in the days following. A link to the recording will be sent to all ticket holders.

‹ Back